What is a framework in mental health?

What is a framework in mental health?

The Service Framework for Mental Health and Wellbeing sets standards in relation to access to mental health services, assessment, diagnosis, care and treatment, self-management, and the recovery of all adults who have a mental health problem or condition.

What legislative framework applies in mental health service provision?

There are two specific pieces of legislation that govern how people with mental health conditions receive care and treatment. They are the Mental Health Act 1983 (updated by the 2007 Act) and the Mental Capacity Act 2005, including the Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards.

What is the National Service Framework NHS?

A National Service Framework (NSF) was any of several policies set by the National Health Service (NHS) in England to define standards of care for major medical issues such as cancer, coronary heart disease, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, diabetes, kidney disease, long-term conditions, mental health, old age.

When was the National Service Framework for mental health introduced?

September 1999
The national service framework for mental health (NSF), launched by the government in September 1999, is the first comprehensive statement describing what’s expected of health and social services in England.

What is a national framework?

Firstly, the National Framework is designed to provide guidance which should be followed by all parties involved in an assessment process. Secondly, it outlines a national assessment process consisting of three tools to aid and support any decision making: the Checklist. the Decision Support Tool.

What are the five models of mental illness?

There are several mental health theories, but they all come from one of five schools of thought. They are behaviorism, biological, psychodynamic, cognitive, and humanistic.

What has replaced the national service framework?

The role of national service frameworks was lost in the reform of the NHS after 2010 and the establishment of NHS England.

What legislation relates to mental health?

The Mental Health Act (1983) is the main piece of legislation that covers the assessment, treatment and rights of people with a mental health disorder. People detained under the Mental Health Act need urgent treatment for a mental health disorder and are at risk of harm to themselves or others.

What replaced national service frameworks?

What is a national service health and social care?

The NHS stands for the National Health Service. It refers to the Government-funded medical and health care services that everyone living in the UK can use without being asked to pay the full cost of the service.

What are examples of mental health policies?

Examples of mental health policy elements include how you’ll aim to:

  • Treat mental health problems seriously.
  • Identify issues and work with the employee to resolve them.
  • Support all staff faced with mental health issues.
  • Maintain a healthy environment that staff feel comfortable, safe and happy to work in.

What is the Mental Health Act 1983 and 2007?

The Mental Health Act 1983 (as amended, most recently by the Mental Health Act 2007) is designed to give health professionals the powers, in certain circumstances, to detain, assess and treat people with mental disorders in the interests of their health and safety or for public safety.

What are National Service Frameworks?

National service frameworks (NSFs) were ten-year programmes for improving specific areas of health and social care. They set measurable goals within set time frames. They were only applicable to the NHS in England. National service frameworks:

What does the NSF DO for mental health?

The NSF for mental health will: combat discrimination against individuals and groups with mental health problems make it easier for for anyone who may have a mental health problem to access services create a range of mental health services to prevent or anticipate crises where possible.

What are the intended benefits of the NSF-MH?

Intended benefits. The NSF-MH aimed to improve quality and remove wide and unacceptable variations in service provision. It defined what mental health services should aim to achieve, how they should be developed and put into practice, and how they should be measured. The intended benefits were inherent in the development process.

What are the five national programmes for mental health and social care?

The focus for delivery was on local health and social care communities. Five national programmes were established to underpin implementation, covering: finance; workforce planning, education and training; research and development; clinical decision-making support systems; mental health information strategy.