Who won the national championship in 1949?

Who won the national championship in 1949?

Kentucky won its second national title in a row in 1949 as the Wildcats defeated Oklahoma State 46-36 in the national championship. Kentucky’s Alex Groza scored 25 of the Wildcats’ 46 points. No other player in the game scored more than 12.

What teams were in the NFL in 1950?

NFL Standings

Cleveland Browns* 10 310
New York Giants* 10 268
Pittsburgh Steelers 6 180
Philadelphia Eagles 6 254

Who won the college football championship in 1953?

The 1953 college football season finished with the Maryland Terrapins capturing the AP, INS, and UPI national championship after Notre Dame held the top spot for the first nine weeks. The No….

1953 college football season
Champion(s) Maryland (AP, Coaches)
Heisman Johnny Lattner (halfback, Notre Dame)
football seasons

Who won the 1950 national championship?

Kentucky Wildcats
The 1950 Kentucky team concluded its season with a victory over Bud Wilkinson’s #1 ranked and NCAA champion Oklahoma Sooners in the Sugar Bowl….1950 Kentucky Wildcats football team.

1950 Kentucky Wildcats football
National champion (Sagarin) SEC champion Sugar Bowl champion
Coaches No. 7
AP No. 7

Who is the only team to win the NCAA Tournament and the NIT in the same year?

CCNY, coached by Nat Holman, won the national title with a 71–68 victory in the final game over Bradley, coached by Forddy Anderson. Irwin Dambrot of CCNY was named the tournament’s Most Outstanding Player. CCNY became the only team to ever win both the NIT and NCAA tournaments in the same year.

How many NFL teams were there in the 1960s?

13 teams
The 1960 NFL season was the 41st regular season of the National Football League. Before the season, Pete Rozelle was elected NFL commissioner as a compromise choice on the twenty-third ballot. Meanwhile, the league expanded to 13 teams with the addition of the Dallas Cowboys.

What teams were in the NFL in 1958?

$year$ NFL $displayname$ Standings

NFL Team W Home
Cleveland Browns Browns 9 4 – 2 – 0
Indianapolis Colts Colts 9 6 – 0 – 0
New York Giants Giants 9 5 – 1 – 0
Chicago Bears Bears 8 5 – 1 – 0

Who won the college football national championship in 1958?

Louisiana State University (LSU), with a record of 10–0, was crowned the national champion at the end of the regular season by both major polls, and won the Sugar Bowl on New Year’s Day.

How many bowl games were there in 1955?


1955 college football season
Preseason AP No. 1 UCLA
Number of bowls 7
Champion(s) Oklahoma (AP, Coaches, FWAA)
Heisman Howard Cassady (halfback, Ohio State)