Which freedom fighter is from Uttar Pradesh?

Which freedom fighter is from Uttar Pradesh?

Independence fighters Swami Sahajanand Saraswati, freedom fighter.

What was Uttar Pradesh called before independence?

the United Provinces of Agra and Oudh
The name was changed once again to Uttar Pradesh in January, 1950, under the Constitution of India. Since 1902, the province was known as the United Provinces of Agra and Oudh; which in 1937 was shortened to United Province or UP. Within days of Independence, the UP legislature began debating a “suitable name”.

What was the name of Uttar Pradesh during British rule?

In 1902 the name was changed to the United Provinces of Agra and Oudh (later shortened to the United Provinces). The Indian Mutiny, a widespread revolt against the East India Company in 1857–58, was centred in the United Provinces.

What is history of Uttar Pradesh?

The region was the site of the Indian Rebellion of 1857, with revolts at Meerut, Kanpur, and Lucknow. The region was also a site for the Indian Independence movement with the Indian National Congress. After independence in 1947, the United Provinces were renamed Uttar Pradesh in 1950.

Who is the No 1 freedom fighter?

Important Indian Freedom Fighters and their Journeys

Mahatma Gandhi Father of the Nation Civil Rights Activist in South Africa Satyagraha Civil Disobedience Movement Quit India Movement
Ram Prasad Bismil Founding Member of Hindustan Republican Association
Bal Gangadhar Tilak The Maker of Modern India Swadeshi Movement

Who is the first poet of India born in Uttar Pradesh?

Sarojini Naidu
Born Sarojini Chattopadhyay13 February 1879 Hyderabad, Hyderabad State, British India (now in Telangana, India)
Died 2 March 1949 (aged 70) Lucknow, United Provinces, Dominion of India (present-day Uttar Pradesh, India)
Nationality Indian
Political party Indian National Congress

Why UP is called Uttar Pradesh?

It was created on 1 April 1937 as the United Provinces of Agra and Oudh during British rule, and was renamed Uttar Pradesh in 1950, giving it the acronym UP. The state is divided into 18 divisions and 75 districts, with the state capital being Lucknow, and Allahabad serving as the judicial capital.

What is the capital of Uttar Pradesh?

LucknowExecutive Branch
Uttar Pradesh/Capitals

On January 26, 1950, when India became a republic, the state was given its present name, Uttar Pradesh (literally, “Northern State”). Its capital is Lucknow, in the west-central part of the state. Area 93,933 square miles (243,286 square km).

What is special about Uttar Pradesh?

Uttar Pradesh is known for its rich culture and tradition. It is home to Ayodhya and Mathura birthplace of Lord Rama, Lord Krishna and Bhgwan Parshuram respectively. Taj Mahal, one of the New Seven Wonders of the World in Agra is also located in Uttar Pradesh.

What is Uttar Pradesh known for?

What is Uttar Pradesh called?

the United Provinces of
The new state was called the North Western Provinces of Agra and Oudh, which in 1902 was renamed as the United Provinces of Agra and Oudh. It was commonly referred to as the United Provinces or its acronym UP….British India era.

Timeline of reorganisation and name changes of UP
24 January 1950 Renamed Uttar Pradesh

Who started British rule in India?

This system of governance was instituted on 28 June 1858, when, after the Indian Rebellion of 1857, the rule of the British East India Company was transferred to the Crown in the person of Queen Victoria (who, in 1876, was proclaimed Empress of India).

What is the history of Uttar Pradesh?

The history of Uttar Pradesh has run concurrently with the history of the country during and after the British rule, but it is also well-known that the contribution of the people of the State in the Indian War of Independence had been significant.

Why was the freedom struggle in up so important?

Freedom struggle in UP UP continued to be central to Indian politics and was especially important in modern Indian history as a hotbed of the Indian independence movement. Uttar Pradesh hosted modern educational institutions such as the Benaras Hindu University, Aligarh Muslim University and the Darul Uloom Deoband.

How many prime ministers of India has Uttar Pradesh given?

Before India’s independence, region was called United Provinces which was renamed as “Uttar Pradesh” after independence. This state has given eight India’s prime ministers. 1.

Who was the ruler of Uttar Pradesh during Mughal Empire?

In the Mughal era, Uttar Pradesh became the heartland of the empire. Mughal emperors Babur and Humayun ruled from Delhi. In 1540 an Afghan, Sher Shah Suri, took over the reins of UP after defeating the Mughal king Humayun. Sher Shah and his son Islam Shah ruled Uttar Pradesh from their capital at Gwalior.