Who ran the House in 2010?

Who ran the House in 2010?

Republicans ended unified Democratic control of Congress and the presidency by winning a majority in the House of Representatives. Republicans gained seven seats in the Senate (including a special election held in January 2010) but failed to gain a majority in the chamber.

How many Democrats were in the House of Representatives in 2010?

2010 United States House of Representatives elections

Party Republican Democratic
Leader since January 3, 2007 January 3, 2003
Leader’s seat Ohio 8th California 8th
Last election 178 seats, 42.6% 257 seats, 53.2%
Seats before 179 256

How many Senate races were there in 2010?

2010 United States Senate elections

Races won 13 24
Party Independent
Seats before 2
Seats after 2
Seat change

Who had House majority in 2014?

The 2014 elections gave the Republicans control of the Senate and the House for the first time since the 109th Congress. With 248 seats in the House of Representatives and 54 seats in the Senate, this Congress began with the largest Republican majority since the 71st Congress of 1929–1931.

Who won the House in 2008?

Democrats won the nationwide popular vote for the House of Representatives by 7.2 percentage points, gaining 21 seats. They increased their total number of seats to 257, the largest number of seats held by either party in the House since Democrats lost control of Congress in the 1994 elections.

Who controlled the House in 2012?

The 2012 United States elections took place on November 6, 2012. Democratic President Barack Obama won election to a second term, though the Republican Party retained control of the House of Representatives.

Who ran in 2012?

2012 United States presidential election

Nominee Barack Obama Mitt Romney
Party Democratic Republican
Home state Illinois Massachusetts
Running mate Joe Biden Paul Ryan
Electoral vote 332 206