What does CFA currency stand for?

What does CFA currency stand for?

What is the CFA franc zone? These two unions maintain the same currency, the CFA franc, which stands for Communauté Financière Africaine (African Financial Community) within WAEMU and Coopération Financière en Afrique Centrale (Financial Cooperation in Central Africa) within CAEMC.

How much is a CFA to a dollar?

Convert CFA Franc to US Dollar

1 XOF 0.00173372 USD
5 XOF 0.00866859 USD
10 XOF 0.0173372 USD
25 XOF 0.043343 USD

How many African countries use CFA?

There are eight independent African countries that use the West African CFA franc: Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Mali, Niger, Senegal, Togo, Guinea-Bissau and Benin.

Does Congo use CFA?

The common currency used in the Republic of Congo and other CEMAC members is the CFA Franc (F CFA). The CFA is linked to the Euro and is treated as an intervention monetary unit at a fixed exchange rate of 1 Euro: 655.957 CFA Franc.

How many countries use CFA?

fourteen countries
Usage. CFA francs are used in fourteen countries: twelve nations formerly ruled by France in West and Central Africa (excluding Guinea and Mauritania, which withdrew), plus Guinea-Bissau (a former Portuguese colony), and Equatorial Guinea (a former Spanish colony).

What is Mali currency?

West African CFA francMali / Currency

What is Togo currency?

West African CFA francTogo / Currency

What is Senegal money called?

West African CFA francSenegal / Currency

Does Burundi use the franc?

The currency used in Burundi is the Burundi Franc (BIF). It is divided into 100 centimes. The symbol used for the Burundi Franc is Fbu. Discussions are taking place to replace the Franc in 2015 with the East African Shilling, which forms part of the East African Community.

Is CFA higher than Naira?

Or that, upon exchanging currencies, 1 Euro is equal to 335.6 Naira while 1 Euro is equivalent to FCfa 655.9570. In reality, the difference between the two Cameroonian and Nigerian currencies is rather on the number of notes issues.

What can you buy with 1000 CFA?

1,000 FCFA It is a decent amount to purchase a good breakfast in one of the bakeries located throughout the city of Brazzaville. Maybe a delicious pain au chocolat and a yoghurt. Or you can purchase a delicious ‘jambo au fromage’ sandwich at the local supermarket.

What is Gabon currency?

Central African CFA francGabon / Currency
The XAF (Central African CFA Franc) is the official currency of six central African countries: Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, and Gabon. The currency is backed by the French treasury and pegged to the euro.