What are the disability classifications in the Paralympics?

What are the disability classifications in the Paralympics?

There are six broad Paralympics categories: amputee, cerebral palsy, intellectual disability, wheelchair, vision impairment, and “others.”

What are the three steps for classification in the Paralympics?

Classification follows a three-step process:

  • Does the athlete have at least one of the ten eligible impairments?
  • Does the athlete meet the Minimum Impairment Criteria (MIC) specific to the sport they wish to compete in?
  • Which sport class should the athlete compete in?

What are some examples of types of physical disabilities?

Physical disability often includes impairments of the neuromusculoskeletal systems including, for example, the effects of paraplegia, quadriplegia, muscular dystrophy, motor neurone disease, neuromuscular disorders, cerebral palsy, absence or deformities of limbs, spina bifida, arthritis, back disorders, ataxia, bone …

What is C5 category in Paralympics?

Sport class C1 is allocated to athletes with the most severe activity limitation, while the sport class C5 is allocated to athletes who meet the minimum impairment criteria.

What is T20 disability?

T20: This category is being re-introduced to the Paralympics. It takes in athletes with an intellectual disability. Those in classifications 32-34 compete in sitting or wheelchair events, while athletes in classes 35-38 are ambulant, meaning they can walk (or run).

What are the 21 types of physical disabilities?


  • Low-vision.
  • Leprosy Cured persons.
  • Hearing Impairment (deaf and hard of hearing)
  • Locomotor Disability.
  • Dwarfism.
  • Intellectual Disability.
  • Mental Illness.
  • What are the classifications for the Paralympics?

    The Paralympic Classifications Explained. The categories are: Amputee: Athletes with a partial or total loss of at least one limb. Cerebral Palsy: Athletes with non-progressive brain damage, for example cerebral palsy, traumatic brain injury, stroke or similar disabilities affecting muscle control, balance or coordination.

    What sports are included in the Paralympics?

    There are twenty-two sports on the Summer Paralympic program and five sports on the Winter Paralympics program. Within some of the sports are several events. For example, alpine skiing has downhill, super combined, super-G, slalom, giant slalom. The IPC has governance over several of the sports but not all of them.

    What is a paralympic athlete?

    Paralympic athletics. Paralympic athletics is a disabled sport practiced by athletes with a physical disability who have competed at separate international events since 1952. It is governed by the International Paralympic Committee through its World Para Athletics subcommittee, and has been one of the sports at the Summer Paralympic Games since 1960.