How many stations are in waltair division?

How many stations are in waltair division?

There are 127 railway stations as its main lines, divided into seven sections. The total route covered under this division is about 2677 km.

Which state is going to get a new railway zone?

South Coast Railway Zone (SCoR) has been announced as the newest railway zone of the Indian Railways and is headquartered at Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh.

How many divisions are on the East Coast Railway?

three divisions
The zone has three divisions: Sambalpur, Khurda Road and Rayagada.

Which is the best division in Indian Railways?

South Eastern Railway tops list of 16 railway zones in performance rating. In originating passenger traffic, the SER has scored 7.10 out of 10, according to the scoresheet made by the Railway Ministry.

Why is Visakhapatnam called waltair?

Vala means Fish Net and Theddu means Oar. Since the shore of Visakhapatnam was filled extensively with fishermen, it might be called “ValaTheddu”, which subsequently turned into Walatedu and Walteru and finally Waltair by the Britishers.

What is the meaning of waltair?

‘Waltair’ is not an English name but was derived out of the Telugu local dialect, meaning a sloped stream. ‘Valu + eru’ = ‘Valtheru’ in Telugu, which was pronounced as ‘Waltair’ in English, says Mr.

How many Division are there in railway?

Indian Railways divides its operations into zones, which are further sub-divided into divisions, each having a divisional headquarters. There are a total of 18 zones (including Metro Railway, Kolkata) and 70 Divisions on Indian Railway System.

Where is Khurda division?

Khurda Road railway division

Headquarters Khurda Road Junction
Locale Odisha, India
Predecessor East Coast Railway

Which railway zone is biggest in India?

Northern Railways
Established in the year 1952, Northern Railways is the largest zone (out of the 16) in terms of kilometres covered (approximately 6807) in India. The headquarters of the Northern Railways zone is at Baroda House, Delhi and New Delhi Railway Station.

What is the new name of waltair?


Visakhapatnam Vizag, Vizagapatam, Waltair, Visakha
Country India
State Andhra Pradesh
District Visakhapatnam
Incorporated (town) 1865

Which railway division is headquartered in Visakhapatnam?

Unsourced material may be challenged and removed. Waltair (or Visakhapatnam) railway division is headquartered at Visakhapatnam and at present is under East Coast Railway.

Where is the new zonal railway headquarter located in India?

Since then, the new zonal railway headquarter has been functioning at Bhubaneswar, the capital city in the state of Orissa.

Which is the largest locomotive shed in Indian Railways?

The Diesel Loco Shed at Visakhapatnam, is the largest diesel shed in Indian Railways, with a capacity to accommodate 300 Diesel Locomotives. While, the Electric Loco Shed is currently holding 231 Electric locomotives . It holds WDM-2 – 57, WDS-6 – 10, WDG -3A – 96 alongside 3 rail busses.

What is the geographical jurisdiction of railway in Orissa?

The geographical jurisdiction of the railway is however extended over three states encompassing almost all parts of Orissa alongwith parts of Srikakulam, Vizainagaram & Visakhapatnam districts of North Eastern Andhra Pradesh, and Bastar & Dantewada districts of Chhatisgarh State.